Creating custom style: guide to beginners, best practices, tips and tricks

guclusat

Tanınmış Üye
Süper Moderatör
Creating custom style: guide to beginners, best practices, tips and tricks

So, I've been making styles for XenForo for over 2 years now and have some experience to share with you, my beloved style makers.

Requirements for readers:
  • You need a basic understanding of html and css. Internet has a lot of resources devoted to this topic.
  • Desire to study.
Where to start?
First of all you should learn how the forum works if you already didn't do that. Just explore all the pages that XenForo has, take part in the community.
Only then you can visit Have You Seen section to understand some of the basic tools that XenForo provides for developers. (yes, you are a developer from now)
I suggest you to watch:
  1. Style Properties - Controlling Style Options
  2. Style Properties II - A Closer Look
  3. Playing With Color
Now when you know some of the basic stuff you can already create your style.

Do I need to create a photoshop mockup first?
No, if you know how your design will look like you don't need to do extra job. But if you have a good design idea and don't have time to code it, it's better to create a mini-mockup that features this idea. To sum up: recreating XenForo design in photoshop is a very time consuming process and in 90% of cases the best choice is just start coding your design.

Creating your first style
Create an empty style with no parent styles. If your style has any parent styles that may increase a chance of getting a bug, because your new style may inherit some of the properties from the parent style and the won't be exported in the final xml file.
Use /styles/default/*your_style*/ folder for your style, unless if you want to replace most of XenForo graphics with your own files.

Using style properties